How this thing called a feeling could be ruining your life…

Hello Everyone!

This is my very first blog post on “Do It Scared” and I am very excited to finally go public.  As many of you may know, “Tricks” will be coming out soon – June of 2009 and we are gearing up for the campaign.  And I have to tell you, I have been terrified.  I am taking an enormous risk so I am doing everything I can to calm my nerves.  One thing  I do is try to stay in the moment and utilize the strong support system that I have.  I think this is key for any of us who want to accomplish their goals.  So, over the next few months (and hopefully years), I am going to bring you interviews and examples of people just like us who accomplished what seemed to be the impossible.  All for a chance to live out their dreams and be able to make a living doing what they love to do.  This brings me the main thing that I believe keeps many of us from accomplishing our goals – it’s a “four letter word” called a feeling. More about that below:

I went to very interesting workshop this weekend where we were learning about emotional literacy.  Emotional literacy in short is having a healthy relationship with one’s emotions and understanding and accepting how we feel without over identifying with that feeling.

It was a very rewarding experience.  I’ve been involved with healing therapies since I was a young girl and the older I have gotten, the more I realize that the majority of this life experience is based on feelings or emotions (energy in motion).

Think about how many things we’ve done becaus we’ve “felt” a certain way without really examining and understanding whether or not it was the best choice.  Don’t get me wrong, feelings serve a purpose – they help keep us safe from harm and let us know that we are alive.  Entire industries (including entertainment) are built and successful one thing – a feeling.

Feelings at their most basic and primal level alert us of danger (fear), prepare us for battle (anger), connect with other human beings and other living things (happiness) – yet this is not the feelings or emotions I am speaking of.

I am addressing the ones that keep us in bad relationships, the ones that keep working at a job that we hate because we are too afraid to step out there or the feelings that make us jump into something without really thinking it through because we feel so afraid.

Lately, I have been trying an exercise that I encourage all of you out there to try.  Think about your goal, something you really, really, really want to do.   Now ask yourself, what is holding you back?  I bet you, at the core of everything you can rationlize, it is a feeling.  Perhaps fear of failure or having to come out of your comfort zone (feeling safe) or even fear that you may succeed. Because if you succeed, then everything would be different, unfamiliar, unknown – you couldn’t control it.

I have been doing that lately and the insight that I have gained has been amazing.  Try it out, you may be suprised at what you find out about yourself.

Leave a Reply

